Busting myths for non-Mythbusters. :-)

Life is a funny thing hey. Since I took my New Years Eve vow of sanguinity I find that I have less of an urge to jump on here and vent my spleen. Good for me but not much good for blog output unfortunately. 🙂 But I saw this the other day and thought it would make a great little entry. I really like the idea of the forum he is going to and the way it is being run. It seems like a good model for lots of other events. The mining resources rent tax , putting a price on carbon etc etc.

It’s a bit of a ‘no shit, Sherlock’ kind of article really isn’t it (especially the ‘The first myth that needs busting is the conceit that the human mind is organised, logical and rational’ statement. 🙂 ). If you want to change someone’s mind or  convince them of your point of view don’t overwhelm them with information, don’t threaten their world view and don’t perpetuate the myth. Actually it is something that the Liberals do very well in Australia and Labor does very poorly. Remember back to the Mining Super Profits Tax. The Liberals; a great, big new tax. The mining industry; this will destroy the economy and your job with it. Labor; a guy standing in a lecture theatre intellectualising the tax. Who won that argument I wonder! And right now with the ‘faceless men’ obsession the Liberals and the media have. Total nonsense but very effective. I mean how dumb is a statement like  ‘Bill Shorten and the other faceless men’? 🙂 But it is short, simple and gets traction.

I might need to send this to a few select politicians, me thinks. Hell, the whole of the Labor caucus! 🙂

Oh btw, the guy who wrote this article’s blog is interesting as well for anyone confused about the nature of the climate change denialist argument.

Leave a Reply

