Isn’t it ironic, don’t you think? Um, no, it’s tragic but not bloody ironic!!!!:-)

I’m not one to get wound up about trivial things. Aaahhh, not only do I crack myself up but I lie pretty consistently to myself as well! 🙂 Anyone who has read this blog at any point will know that I get wound up about the most pointless crap at times. To be fair I also get wound up about some pretty non-trivial crap at times as well. But I would have to admit that the constant mis-use of the word ‘ironic’ probably sits squarely in the ‘trivial crap’ pile.

But boy is the word consistently mis-used! I mean Alanis Morrisette wrote a whole song about it and didn’t use one piece of irony in it, unless you consider the idea that she wrote a whole song about irony and didn’t use any irony in it! 🙂 Meeting the man of your dreams and then meeting his beautiful wife isn’t ironic, it might suck but it’s not ironic. And having ‘ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife’ is only ironic if you have been a leading advocate  for replacing all knives with spoons at social gatherings! 🙂

I’m not going to bore you with a definition of irony but basically something is ironic ‘if the actions taken have an effect exactly opposite from what was intended’ or if a statement implies a meaning in opposition to it’s literal meaning. By way of example, this is ironic. Tragic but ironic.

Next on my list of mis-used words? Awkward. A quick scan of Facebook would suggest that no-one has a f*&king clue what it means! 🙂

One response to “Isn’t it ironic, don’t you think? Um, no, it’s tragic but not bloody ironic!!!!:-)

  1. Pingback: Hey, relax, I’m back. ;-) | Ramblings of an ordinary man

Leave a Reply

