Avenue Q – it doesn’t suck to be me, but boy can it be a little strange at times!

I started writing this from my seat (H22 in the Grand Circle, if you are interested) waiting for the curtain to come up on Avenue Q at the amazing old Kings Theatre in Glasgow, having very nearly not made it on time after totally misjudging how far it was to walk there. It seems, after three years away, that my geographical knowledge of Glasgow has slipped a little.

Now this is only really relevant because it very nearly ruined my day. Not that I am such a complete theatre-ite that missing the show would have gutted me but because I am a strange, strange person. For two reasons on this occasion, though my friends would probably suggest there are more.

The first is that, partly as an exercise in spontaneity and partly because, meh,  I was a bit ambivalent about going, I had decided to not buy a ticket in advance but to just turn up and see what was available. If I got a ticket, great, if not, no biggie. In fact, if there were no tickets then the decision had been made for me. The thing was the closer I got and the more it looked like I wasn’t going to get there on time the more disappointed I was getting. By the time I got I would have been devastated if I had of missed out. So from ambivalence to desperation to contentment in 10 minutes flat! 🙂

The second was that I had decided that, for no other reason than it seemed like fun, I was going regale the ticketing person with a totally fabricated back-story as to why I was buying a ticket so late. It was going to be based on the idea that I was only in Glasgow a couple of days, I just happened to be walking past and saw that Avenue Q was on, that I had either been in the Australian production of it or had worked back-stage on the Australian production of it (I hadn’t decided which. Funnily enough, although the whole story was a lie, the ‘being in it’ idea seemed like bragging! 🙂 ) and, for this reason, had never actually seen it. Oh, and what a fortunate happenstance it was that I had stumbled upon it the day before I flew out of Glasgow. The walk into the theatre was about 50 minutes and I had been developing and rehearsing this scenario for about 40 of those minutes. Up until I realised I was going to miss the show if I didn’t focus and get my arse into gear. In the end I was so rushed and so grateful just to get there on time that I totally forgot the whole back-story idea. And a pity it was too because the lady who served me seemed like she would really have enjoyed it.

As a bit of a side note, I had one of my surreal moments, as I am wont to do, early on in the  show when it suddenly occurred to me with blinding clarity that the people on stage were only acting and weren’t, in fact, the characters! 🙂 I think the best one of these I ever had was the time I realised that the Klingons in Star Trek weren’t actually aliens but actors with ice cream containers, or such-like, stuck on their heads. But there were other factors involved in that one and it is another story in itself. 🙂 Anyway, my astounding epiphany  didn’t detract from the show at all, in fact it probably made me appreciate it more because it made me more aware of how hard these people were working to put me into a fantasy land that I became totally lost in. And it made me realise that, and here comes the soppy bit, theatre is fun not because of what you can get out of it but because of what you can give to others. Sniff, sniff, I think I have something in my eye! 🙂

Leave a Reply

