A friend of mine posted this on Facebook today…
“Today and tmrw, the New FB Privacy setting called “Instant Personalization” goes into effect. The new setting shares your data with non-FB sites & it is automatically set to “Enabled”.Go to Account>Privacy Settings>Apps & Websites (very bottom of the page)>Instant Personalization>edit settings & uncheck “Enable”. BTW If your friends don’t do this, they will be sharing info about you as well. Please copy and repost”
…I checked and it’s for real. In fact it also shares information about anyone on your Friends list.
I know I can be a bit over-sensitive about what Facebook shares etc. but the worrying thing for me is that I would be sharing other people’s information…and that really isn’t my choice to make I don’t think. Why should a site that I visit automatically have access to information about my friends? And I have to say it really pisses me off when software is written with features that you have to go and turn off if you don’t want them rather than turn it on if you do want them. Facebook isn’t the only one who does this…but they all know that most people won’t know they have to, won’t know how to, won’t know they can or won’t bother because, in most cases, it is made excessively complicated to do so.
As I said, I might be over-reacting but the point is I don’t know if I am. I have no idea who they are sharing the information with, how much & what they are sharing and there doesn’t seem an easy way to find out. So what am I telling other people about my friends?