I’ve resolved to…

First of all….HAPPY NEW YEAR! I hope you all had a good one and that no-one over-indulged on the drink or food front…aaahh I crack myself up sometimes! 🙂 But more importantly I hope that you all got around to making some good New Years Eve resolution…after all, isn’t that what it is all about??? 🙂

I’ve come up with a couple of good ones for myself using my two NYE’s resolutions guidelines…so unlike me to have little rules!:-) The guidelines are simple…firstly, try not to make a resolution too absolute or extreme, you are only setting yourself up for failure. And secondly, plan for failure! I know that seems paradoxical but I read somewhere that if we plan for failure, when it happens it’s  then just part of the plan…rather than a reason to give up on the resolution. Make sense?

So, on to the resolutions. The first is to sweat the small things much less. At the moment sweating them is something I am just a wee tad prone to do!:-) I was given a 2011 desk calendar called ‘Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff…and it’s all small stuff’ by a friend who obviously knows me very well. And it resonated with me as something I need to do more…or is it less? I know what I mean anyway so number one all sorted.

The second is to be more generous to myself…both physically and mentally. I think this one came to me on a couple of different occasions. The first was one of the many times I have called myself a f%&king idiot for not remembering to get a towel out of the cupboard before getting into the shower…forgot to get a towel out,  what a heinous crime! And the second was when I was lecturing recently and I used the phrase ‘When I wore a younger man’s clothes’  to introduce an example I was using. I was thinking about it later and realised I was wearing a younger man’s clothes…a much younger man’s clothes. The shirt I had on was over 25 years old! Still very cool and trendy obviously…and second time round even…but 25 years old! 🙂 So, after checking my t-shirts and finding that over half of them are from the film festival I used to run with my brother, it occurred to me that I probably needed to indulge myself a bit more…but not until I find somewhere to recycle the old ones. 🙂

But enough about me…what other resolutions are out there?

2 responses to “I’ve resolved to…

  1. You are clearly over the hill

Leave a Reply

